Archive for March 11, 2011

Where’s the Sun?   Leave a comment

Seventy-nine yesterday, and today is so cool and gray it feels like the coast.  (Since there’s a tsunami watch there . . . maybe it’s just as well it isn’t!)

It’s really quite pleasant, and a last chance to sit by the fire.  Still, being outside and active so much the last couple of days has been great, and I’m ready to get back to it.  After all, it’s spring, and the lambs are growing . . .

The cottonwoods are putting forth tassels . . .

And the silver lupine is blooming.

It is one of the silveriest (Is that a word?) plants around.  Its leaves glisten like fine old sterling that’s been polished lovingly for a hundred years.   I got it at the Native Plant Society sale year before last, but it hasn’t bloomed till now. 

It’ll be back outside tomorrow, but for now, it’s back to sit by the fire.

Posted March 11, 2011 by stablewoman in Uncategorized

My Mouse Died   2 comments

No entry yesterday, because my mouse died.  A friend supplied me with a wireless mouse, so we’re all set.

Because of the dead mouse, I only got one of my photos edited.  I’m working on getting a better shot of that tree swallow; I hope he gets used to me pointing a camera at him.  This one has a better view of his blue-green back.

I’ll be caught up on my editing by tomorrow.

Posted March 11, 2011 by stablewoman in Birds