Scarlet and Crimson   Leave a comment

The daylilies are really blooming now.  I’m not fond of the color red as a rule, but these beauties could change my mind.

Marion gave me this blazing scarlet lily, with its slender petals.

scarlet1

 

scarlet2

I think this heart’s-blood crimson was a cheap Walmart purchase.

crimson1

 

There won’t be any more flowers from this lovely peach lily for a while.

peach

After I took this picture, a ground squirrel cut the stalk to the ground.  Six unborn flowers gone . . . and it didn’t even eat them, but just chewed the stalk a little.

A couple of days ago, I looked up to see a little brown arm coming in the doggie door.  In a moment, it was followed by a bright-eyed furry head.  A ground squirrel had decided to see what was on the other side of that intriguing door.  I yelled and jumped up, and it vanished.  It was back again a little later, and a couple of times after that, totally unimpressed by dogs or missiles.  It never came all the way through the door, but that was obviously going to happen eventually.  It was back again the next day, but I haven’t seen it today.  I hope it’s given up — or something got it.  That squirrel is going a little too far.

I really don’t want to find one eating out of the dog dish . . . or under my chair.

Posted May 10, 2014 by stablewoman in Flowers

Leave a Reply

