Life Returns   Leave a comment

Even in such a short time, life has begun to return to the river.  A couple of days ago, I spotted the first dragonfly of the year.

firstdragonfly

The next day, there was a hopeful egret fishing on the riverbank.

egret

He spotted me quickly, and stretched his neck to examine me more closely.

egret2

I don’t think there is a living creature as snowy white as an egret.  I wish I could have caught him a moment later, when he took off.

As long as there is water down there, the creatures will continue to come back.  I wish I thought it would be around longer, but at least we’re getting some recharge, and the burned-out trees are getting a drink.

And the dogs are having a wonderful time.  There are little piles of sand all over the house again, marking where a wet dog dried out.  It’s a good thing we have a powerful vacuum cleaner.

Posted February 19, 2014 by stablewoman in Birds, Kern River, Nature, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

