Contrails   Leave a comment

When I looked out this morning, I was struck by the beauty of a contrail backlit by the dawn.  It looked as if a phoenix had plunged to earth; an optical illusion, I hope.  By the time I dashed in and gotten my iPhone, the rosy hues had faded; but even in blue and gold it was striking.

contrail1

I always liked the patterns contrails make.  For one thing, it reminds me of when I was a little girl, and how the cry of “A jet!  A jet!” would bring the whole neighborhood out to gawk up into the sky.  Often all you could see was a bright speck at the end of a contrail, but it was a jet.  This was the era when whole families would go out to the airport on weekends, just to watch the planes taking off and landing.  Now we turn out when we hear the massive drone of a B-17 visiting from the local air show . . . at least some of us do.

Posted January 18, 2014 by stablewoman in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

