Blackberries!   Leave a comment

I didn’t blog yesterday; not because I forgot, but because friend and neighbor Peggy called to see if I wanted to come to her house and pick some of her blackberries.  Of course I did.

Marion got there, too, and we picked up and down the long rows.  It was cool in the late afternoon, and the best kind of picking weather.

Of course, I brought my camera.  I was a little surprised to see the pink blackberry blossoms; the wild blackberries in the river bottom have white flowers.

blossoms

There were plenty of blackberries.  These were far from the largest, but this was the best picture.

blackberries

The pink flowers reminded me of wild roses, and I commented that blackberries were members of the rose family, after all.  This led to a discussion as to whether strawberries were, too.  I wasn’t sure, so today I looked it up.  The rose family is a remarkable one; we’d find it hard to get along without it.  Its edible members include apples, apricots, plums, cherries, peaches, pears, raspberries, blackberries, almonds, the less familiar loquats and quince — and strawberries.  That’s without the wild roses and garden roses, whose hips are also edible and full of Vitamin C.

Wow.  But I guess Mother Nature likes to keep us sharp; many of these have seeds which contain cyanide compounds.

Well, I baked a pound cake this morning.  Tonight, when we have it with blackberries and whipped cream, we’ll think lovingly of the great Family of the Rose.

Posted May 29, 2013 by stablewoman in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

