Stormy Weather   Leave a comment

The morning started off cool and drizzly; then the sun came out and riders started going in all directions.  I went shopping.  I’ve been trying to find Billy some nice warm 3 or 4x shirts, and I had some pretty good ones located at JCP.  The 4x turned out to be too big, so I headed back to try for 3xes.  (Is that a proper plural?  I doubt it.)

By the time I got home, I had missed all of the nice weather.  The clouds were looking ominous . . .

cloudsjan6

Then a front came through, a cold rain started, and riders started hurriedly arriving back home from all directions.

I sure post a lot of cloud pictures.  That’s because we’re cloud-deprived most of the year here in Bakersfield.  All summer long, all you see are pale, hot, empty skies.  Any old cloud is a treat; and black threatening ones like these are a cause for celebration in our desert climate.

There’s a whole chicken simmering in white wine in the Dutch oven; there’s a fire in the fireplace, and the crew just dumped a new load of wood out back; and I have three new books and lots of knitting to finish.  Billy’s dozing in the living room, and it’s time to join him.

Posted January 6, 2013 by stablewoman in Weather

Leave a Reply

