Just Another Day   Leave a comment

I planned to make a quick trip to the bank this morning, but things didn’t work out that way.

First, there was a wreck on the bridge, and I waited for that to be cleared up.  They put a pretty good dent in the guardrail.

Then, when I walked out the door, there was a VDS (Very Dead Squirrel) on the lawn.  I had to stop and dispose of it, or it might have ended up in the living room before I got back.  There are disadvantages to having a dog door.  It wasn’t quite as far gone as the VDR from yesterday (you can guess that one), but it was bad enough.  Ranch life takes a strong stomach.  I’ve developed a trick of not looking directly at what I’m scooping up.

I hopped in the car and took off.  I got halfway there before I realized that I had forgotten the envelope with the deposit in it.  Turned around and went back.

There were no hitches at the bank, but by that time the morning was pretty well shot.  I exercised and groomed ponies yesterday, and hoped to drive today, but that’s not going to happen.  Maybe tomorrow . . .

There’s not much blooming right now, but this moonflower looked picturesque against a eucalyptus log.  It was cream-colored, and they are mostly stark white, with perhaps a lilac edge.

New dog Rye barked for the first time last night.  It was about one o’clock in the morning, and she appeared to be woofing at something in the river.  Even if we didn’t see anything, that’s a start for our (we hope) future watchdog.

Posted September 20, 2012 by stablewoman in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

