Dear Jane   1 comment

I was thinking today that I’ve written a lot of posts since I moved my blog over to WordPress.  Over a thousand, in fact.  What is hard to remember is what I wrote about on my old blog, which is pretty much unavailable now.  So I thought, on uneventful days, that I might rewrite some of those old entries, especially those about good horses I have owned or known.

Number one on my list of Good Horses would be my mare Jane.  She was nothing fancy to look at.  Supposedly she came from a ranch that was experimenting with crossing Thoroughbreds with mustangs.  Certainly she was wild enough for a mustang.  I remember Billy telling me that when they bought her, they loaded her into the trailer by having a bunch of kids from our place come along and make a circle around her.  Then they moved slowly forward, and rather than face people, she bolted into the trailer.

She grew into a plain but athletic-looking mare.

Athletic she was, and fast.  Once they got her under saddle, Billy’s sons rode her and match raced her against anyone who wanted to run.  By the time I came along, she was pretty tired of that, and refusing to go out.  When I started riding her, it was a battle of wills.  I remember one person I was riding with commenting that I looked like a windmill as I applied the leather popper to “encourage” her.

When she finally gave up, though, she was a completely honest horse.  Whatever you asked her to do, she would try.  I wanted to do endurance racing, so off we went, working every day to condition her.  She was too muscular to compete with the Arabs, but we had a lot of fun and did pretty well together.

The above picture was taken at the San Antonio ride, held for many years out of the San Antonio mission near Paso Robles.  We competed several times, with different horses and friends.  The ’77 ride I remember for being cold and miserable; but Jane and I made it and were very proud.  (At least I was.)

Jane was an incredibly safe horse to ride.  She never made mistakes or put a foot wrong, in any kind of terrain from deep sand to rough rocks.  She had quirks, though only one was dangerous; if someone on the ground grabbed at her bridle, she would go over backwards.  This was dangerous, especially if you happened to be on her back at the time!  It also didn’t endear her to the vets who had to examine her mouth.  We tried without success to break her of it, but never could.  There’s no telling why she did this, but it must have been something traumatic in her colthood, because she was perfectly sensible otherwise.  You know she must have been a good horse for us to put up with this for years.

She’s been gone for many years, of course, but I still think of her as the best horse I ever owned.

Now I’m hoping I haven’t said this all before on this blog!  If I knew how to do a search, I wouldn’t have this problem.

Posted September 3, 2012 by stablewoman in Uncategorized

One response to “Dear Jane

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. she sounds like a great mare!! and it wouldn’t be “colthood” it would be “fillyhood” because she a mare. 🙂

Leave a Reply

