Heat Stress   Leave a comment

It seems as though a lot of people I know are or have been sick.  I suspect it has to do with the heat; everything living is affected.

This morning it was actually under 80 when I got up, so I got in a walk for the first time in days.  It was still ferociously hot, but doable.

The trees are looking really unhappy now.

Oddly enough, the new willows that have grown up in the PG&E cut are doing nicely.  You have to fight your way through them to get to the river, with ants dropping down your neck.

When you get past them, there’s a lot of dry sand.

There were some buttercups still blooming valiantly, though.

By slogging through the sand, I found a little water in one channel.

There were even some enormous tadpoles.  This one didn’t look long for this world.

This stand of cattails was dying back.  I hope the roots survive, so they can come back when conditions improve.

All in all, things looked pretty dismal.

I’d be more discouraged if I hadn’t seen it all before.  The river bottom has died back (or been burned back) many times.  It has an amazing ability to regenerate.

I just hope it gets a chance to do that — soon!

Posted August 15, 2012 by stablewoman in Kern River, Nature, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

