A Touch of the Flu   1 comment

Actually, it was more than a touch.  And it was stomach flu, which is very unpleasant on a hot day.  They say that most stomach flus are actually a touch of food poisoning, but I can’t think of anything I ate that could possibly have been the cause.  And one of the boarders has been complaining of a bug that sounds exactly the same.  I won’t go into the gruesome details, but will say I’m much better today, except for very sore stomach muscles.

At least it got me up early enough to enjoy the dawn yesterday.  As the days shorten, I’m seeing more of these . . .

And this morning I got to see this lovely daylily before the sun fried it.

I missed my usual dusk walk, when I throw a stick for Xena, check my equines, and give them carrots.  They aren’t getting much work in this heat, but I have a feeling they’d rather have the carrots anyway.

We’re thinking about another dog.  Not a replacement for Cider — there isn’t one — but one that might become a good dog with time.  Xena’s a dear little dog, but she’s not a watchdog.  About the closest she comes is when she dashes through the dog door and hides behind my chair.

I think, though, it might be best to hold off until the worse of the hot weather is over.  Unless something perfect comes along . . . we’ll see.

Posted August 11, 2012 by stablewoman in Uncategorized

One response to “A Touch of the Flu

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I was wondering if you were okay yesterday when I saw Billy out turning off the water to the lawns and you weren’t around. Hope you get to feeling better!

Leave a Reply

