Brains   1 comment

Not the kind zombies like; we’re talking animal intelligence here.  It’s always interesting to see, not only how smart various critters are, but in what ways.  I’ve observed mostly dogs and horses, and both vary widely from individual to individual.

The border collies have been a continuous fascination, ever since they’ve been around.  I like to think up ways to observe how they think.  The other night, I was throwing a stick for Xena, and came to a spot beside the fence.  If I threw it across the fence, she would have to run down the fence for twenty feet or so, and go through a gate.  I was pretty sure she would figure it out right away.  As I drew back my arm to throw, I glanced at her out of the corner of my eye.  She was already running at full speed for the gate.  Before I threw it, she had already figured out where it was going to go, and was on it almost as it landed.  She even calculated about how far I could throw it (not very) and was right there.

Every once in a while, I run across an article about some scientist who has a new study out, in which they “conclusively prove” that animals don’t have intelligence as we do; don’t have emotions like ours; don’t feel pain as we do.  I don’t believe it, and no one who lives with them does either.  Their intelligence, emotions, and pain may be different from ours; but they are not programmed furry automatons.

Although I must admit, Xena doesn’t look very bright when she’s trying to cool off in Cider’s water dish.

There’s a whole river out there, dog!

Posted July 18, 2012 by stablewoman in Dogs, Pets

One response to “Brains

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bwahahaha – pretty funny. Instead of watching TV, I often watch the dog.

Leave a Reply

