A Long Time Ago . . .   1 comment

This photo fell out of an old album while I was looking through it.  It’s one of a series taken in 1956, when I got my first horse Belle.

I’m in front; then brother Bruce; then Jim.  They didn’t get to ride a lot.  I had waited a long time for a horse, and wasn’t interested in sharing.  At that time, we lived in town, and only saw Belle on weekends.

This was taken at the Mello ranch, near the tiny town of Edna.  I think it’s all under wine grapes now, but it was a beautiful spot then.  It wasn’t long, though, before we moved out into the country, and Belle could come home.  Several years later, Sally joined us, and the family was complete.

I certainly never would have dreamed where I would end up, fifty-six years later.

 

Posted July 6, 2012 by stablewoman in Old Times

One response to “A Long Time Ago . . .

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is one of my favorite family photos. I love the way you’re all perfectly staggered. Belle doesn’t seem to mind all of those kids up there.

Leave a Reply

