Archive for August 20, 2009

Here’s Billy   Leave a comment

I mention my husband Billy so much in these pages, but seldom does he get his picture posted — or taken.  When I was running through some old floppies, I came upon this one, taken ten years ago.

 

crystal12

 

It’s not the highest quality, as it was taken with my old digital, but it’s one of my favorites.  He’s on his palomino Quarter mare, Skip.  He’s ponying a little Quarter/Arab mare we owned then, Crystal, with then son-in-law David riding her.  This is one of a twelve-shot sequence showing our method of starting a young horse.  I’ll have to post the whole thing one of these days.  The pictures are a little blurry in spots, but it’s still a treasured memento.  It was one of the last times he was able to ride.

Skip is still around, old and stiff, but still giving lessons to kids.  Crystal was sold but stayed on the ranch.  She made a very good horse for an old cowboy, who kept her till he died; now his family has her.  They made some great memories.

Five laps yesterday, six today; that’s half an hour of brisk walking.  Don’t think I’ll try for more till the weather breaks.

Posted August 20, 2009 by stablewoman in Horses